Kilcolman Parish   researched by Lisa Hogan
 Kilcolman   is   the   official    name   of   our   parish.
In the  past Kilcolman  had   three  separate  parishes 
 Kilcolman , Ettagh    and   Aghancon .The  parish  gets   its   name from 
 a religious  house founded  in   570A.D , by St. Colman  Daire.The 
ancient  name   of   this   parish    was    Daire   Mor
which    means    the   great  oak   wood. The  parish
lies   in  the    Ely    O'  Carroll  territory. It is   situated   in   Clonlisk   and   Ballybritt    barony.
It  is   in the   diocese   of   Killaloe.

Old   Kilcolman  parish  lies  2.5   miles   south   of   Birr   and 
 10   miles   north-west   of   Roscrea.
It   has  6,628   statue   acres   of  land.
The   Catholic   church   of   Kilcolman   was  built   around    the 
 year   1830   by   Rev. Peter Cleary  P.P. This    priest   served 
the   people   of   Kilcolman    from   1830   to   1839. On   the 
 27th   of    May   1906
Bishop    Fogarty    blessed   a   new   altar   made   by   Pearse 
of   Dublin    (father   of  P. H.  Pearse). It    was   presented   to 
the   people   of   Kilcolman   by   Mr.   Jackson    of   Inane , 
whose    horse   'Velocity'   had  won   the   Cambridgeshire  classic
  in   the   previous   year. The   altar   was   his   thanksgiving   gift.

Church   of   Ireland    service  was   held    every   Sunday   in a 
private    house. Between   40   and  50  people   attended   the 
service   each   Sunday. The   rector    didn’t   live   in   the   parish 
 as    there   was 
 no    Rectory.
The  ruins    of  two   castles    were    found   in   the    townlands 
of   Clonbeg    and    Rathmore.
These      castles    were   once    occupied   by 
The   Ely  O ‘ Carolls. St.Abhan   had   his    monastery   in   the 
townland    of   Rathbeg. St.Abhan    is    the   patron   Saint  of   Ely  O’ 
 Carroll . In   1976 there   were  84
householders   in    the   Kilcolman  area , it   had  one  church, one 
school ,one  pub  known  locally  as  the ' Black   Bull' , a  shop  and 
a  social  centre. It   once  had
its  own  hurling  team  which  won  a  Junior  final  in  1935  and 
an  Intermediate  final  in  1937.

Old  Kilcolman  parish  has  17  townlands-Big wood, Boveen,
Ballyegan, Ballygaddy ,Clonbeg ,Cree,
Irishtown ,Dromoyle ,Island, Kilcolman ,Killeenbreaghan, Kilnalacka
,Lisduff,  Nadneagh, Rathbeg, Rathmore  and Sharavogue.
The  following  townlands  are in  the  Barony  of  Clonlisk,
Ballyegan ,Ballygaddy ,Boveen  ,Kilnalacka,
Lisduff, Nadneagh, Rathbeg ,Rathmore and Sharavogue.
The  Barony of Ballybritt  includes,Bigwood ,Clonbeg,
Cree ,Dromoyle ,Irishtown,  Island, Kilcolman  and

Ettagh  Parish

To– day  Ettagh  parish  is  known  as   Coolderry. Coolderry 
means  Cúl  Doire  or  the  back  of   the  oak wood. The  name 
Ettagh  is   derived  from  St. Ita. Ettagh  is  a  parish in the
baronies  of  Clonlisk  and  Ballybritt. It  has 6,531  statue 
acres  of  land. Ettagh  is  four  miles  south-east  from  Birr   and 
between  Kilcolman  and  Aghancon. In  the  past  it  had  two
 large  estates. One  estate  was  in  Gloster  and  the  other  in 
Golden  Grove. The  Lloyd  family  lived  in  Gloster  while
 the  Vaughan   family  occupied  the  estate  of 
  Golden  Grove. The  ruins  of  a  monastery 
were   found   near  Gloster   house. This monastery was  built 
by  St.Pulcherius or  Mochoemog. He  was
 a nephew of  StIta  after  whom  he  named  his  monastery.
The  Protestant  church  of  Ettagh  was
built in  1831. In  the  early  eighties  there  was  no  Rectory 
in  Ettagh. The  rector  lived  in  Shinrone.
Service  was  held  once  every  Sunday , also
on  Christmas  Day  and on Good  Friday. The  average
attendance   at  the  service  was  60  people  in  Summer 
and  30  people in  Winter. The  Rectory  was  built  in 
Ettagh  in  the  nineteenth   century  by  the  Rev. Davis, a 
relative  of  the  poet , Thomas  Davis.

The  Catholic church of  Coolderry  is  built  on  the 
townland  of  Ballyknockan. It  was   built  by   Rev. 
James  Healy  P.P.,  and  dates   back  to  the   1850’s 
Fr.Healy  lived  in  Boveen. The  King family  now  live  in  this  house.
In  the  townland  of Aghadouglas  near  Ballyknockan
Castle  there  was  a  church  and  a  mill. Coolderry  had 
87  householders  in  1976. Six  new    houses  were  built
 in  the  village . It  had  a  church,a shop  and  a  school.
St.Ita  is  the   patron   saint  of  Coolderry. The  hurling 
field  is  located  at  Coolderry  since  it  is  the  centre 
of  the  parish.
Ettagh  parish  has; 22  townlands-Aghadouglas,Ballinlough,
Knock,Newhall.Shrahanbregagh  and  Tullaroe.
 The  following  townlands  are  in  the  Barony  of  Clonlisk,
Aghadouglas,Ballinlough, Ballyatty,  Ballybeg
,Ballyknockan, Cloghan, Conicker, Coolderry, Coolroe,
Curragh, Dromakeenan, Glasderrybeg ,Glasderrymore,
Glebe,  Newhall,Killistristane ,Knocknamase, Goldengrove
and  Shrahanbregagh .The  Barony  of  Ballybritt 
includes  Ballywilliam, Glenacurragh, Knock  and  Tullaroe.

                    Aghancon  Parish 

The  parish  of  Aghancon  is  situated  in  Clonlisk  and
Ballybritt. Aghancon  means  Agha-na-gcon,the field  of the
Hounds. It  has  3,000  acres  of  land. The   Protestant   church 
 was  built  in  1786. The  glebe  house  was  built  in   the 
nineteenth  century. Service  was  held
on  Sundays  and  occasionally  on  holidays. The  average 
attendance  at  the  service  was  300. The  rector  lived  in the 
glebe  house. There  is  a  Catholic
Church  in  Ballybritt. The  date  is  uncertain ,  it  was  probably 
built  after   1835. It  may  have   been  built  before  the  great 
famine  or  in  the  second  half  of 
the  1850s. An  external  cross  from  the  disused  church  in 
Fancroft  was  transferred   to  Ballybritt  during  renovations
 in  1982. Aghancon  lies  3.5   miles  north  from  Roscrea.
The  ruins  of a castle  were  found  in  Ballybritt  townland.
This  castle  also  belonged  to  the  O’Carrolls. To  the  south
 of the castle  are  the  walls
of  a  Protestant  church  and  to  the  north  of  it , is  the 
site  of  a  Catholic  church.The  Leap  castle  is  located  in
 the  parish   of  Aghancon. The  O' Banans  occupied  the 
castle. This  castle  was  built by the O'Carrolls  in  the  twelfth  century.
The  O’ Banans 
were  sub -chiefs  to  the  O’ Carroll's  of  Ely. Aghancon 
has  22  townlands.  The  following  townlands 
 are  in  the  Barony of Ballybritt- Aghancon, Aghody, Ballybritt, 
Ballycurragh, Ballyphilip, Bredagh, Brown Hills, Coldblow, Danganreagh, 
Glascloon, Glebe, Gorraun, Keraun, Killeens, Leap, Lissanierin and Marymount. 
The Barony of Ballybritt includes Ballinglough, Ballyrickardbeg, Ballyrickardmore,Fortwilliam, Heath, and Moneyfada.
To-day the modern parish of Kilcolman includes Kilcolman, Coolderry, 
and Aghancon. It has three churches, one school,two pubs ,two shops 
and a garage. The entire parish contains 16,159 statue acres of land. 
Rev. Fr. SLattery P.P. resides in Kilcolman. Rev. Fr.O'Donoghue retired parish priest,  lives in Coolderry.
Click  here  to  return  to  index
Click here to go to  Kilcolman Parish Website