• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • You Tube

Carrigeen Logo


  • Carrigeen School Old School Carrigeen from 1903.Now fully refurbished with state of the art PE Hall. With Computer room and Library.
  • Carrigheen School Visitor's Book. Crystal Vase by Bill Healy Junior USA, Sports Plaque, Class Photos
  • New School opened 2009 A magnificent school for the 21st century with first class facilities.
  • 1945 Photo Class of the 1940's. How many do you recognise?.
  • New School from side Viewed from the playing field. Five rooms, catering for an increased school population.
  • Connecting the old and new. Secretary's spacious Office with atrium connecting both schools.
  • Centenary Centenary 2000. President Mary McAleese visited April 2003.Plaque to mark the President's visit. Presidential Helicopter. School tapestry.
  • Snapshot of History Snapshot of history. All photographs available at the school and elsewhere on the web.
  • Centenary  Book Centenary Book. A snapshot of the entire school.
  • Official Opening and blessing by: Bishop Freeman June 11 2009.

Welcome To Carrigeen ..

New Extension to Carrigeen Primary School

Carrigeen is a mixed school, catering for children from 4 to 12 years.

Carrigeen celebrated its Centenary in Sept 2000
Carrigeen is unique in its location in the heartl and of the Suir Valley with views of five couintied from th efront door.

The school has a majestic view of the valley as it strides an outcrop of Old Red Sandstone. Tory Hill, Slieve na mBan and the Comeragh Mountains frame this wonderful setting.

Cromwell knew well the value of the land as he passed under the shadow of the Walsh Hills on his approach to Carrick-on-Suir from New Ross. He is reported to have said: "It is a land worth fighting for".

In 1966 the Boys' and Girls' Schools were amalgamated to form Carrigeen Boys' and Girls' School .
Carrigeen is the third school in this area of South Kilkenny. Clashroe and the present community hall adjoining the Churchyard were former schools. Prior to Clashroe a well known hedge school existed at a place known as "Portnascoile", or the "Field of the School".

Historic landmarks surround Carrigeen in the form Grannagh and Corluddy Castle. Both bear testimony to our ancient past with Butler and Grant connections.
Adjacent to the river are two of Ireland's most ancient villages in the country, Licketstown and Glengrant, which date to Norman times.

Of the famed sons and daughters none come to mind more readily than the renowned sportsmen of hurling fame, the Doyles, Drug Walsh and Bob O'Keeffe first President of the GAA.
Among many others were Pádraig Puirseil and his wife Mary Purcell, writers of note.
Carrigeen's new extension and refurbishment is a magnificent building and links with the original with a sculpted tribute to the ancient hedge school.

Official opening took place on Thursday June 11th. 2009. by Bishop Séamus Freeman.

	       Click here for more information



Opening Times

09.20 am
Sos: 11.00am

Lunch 13.00hrs

Closing Junior Infants 14.hrs

Seniors:    15.00hrs

Book Lists

Summer Holidays:

Ph:     051 895423