Spctitle.gif (7831 bytes)

Past Pupils Union

snbrady2.jpg (9790 bytes)

Most Rev Dr Sean Brady
Archbishop of Armagh

Most Rev. Dr. Sean Brady was been installed as Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All-Ireland on Sunday, November 3rd, 1996.

Archbishop Brady is better known to us in St. Patrick's College as "Father Sean". A native of Laragh, he was a student here in the college for five years before starting his studies for the priesthood in Maynooth. Having studied in Maynooth and Rome, he was ordained to the priesthood on February 22, 1964. He continued to study Canon Law in Rome before he was appointed to the staff of St. Patrick's College in 1967. He spent 13 years in the college, teaching a variety of subjects including Latin, Commerce, Religion and French. A keen follower of Gaelic Football, he trained college teams at all age levels.

In 1980 he was appointed Vice-rector of the Irish College in Rome and Rector in 1987. In 1990, when Jack Charlton and the Irish Soccer team visited Rome, it was Fr. Sean that introduced them to the Pope. As a result, four years later, when he was appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Armagh, the Daily Mirror ran the following headline:"Football-crazy priest fixed it for Big Jack to meet the Pope". In 1993 he returned to Ireland and was appointed parish priest of Ballyhaise, Co. Cavan. In December 1994 he was appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Armagh, and was ordained in February, 1995. With the recent retirement of Cardinal Daly, Archbishop Brady succeeded him as Archbishop of Armagh and Primate of All-Ireland. He becomes the 115th successor to the See of St Patrick.

frleo2g.gif (22317 bytes)

Our thanks to Colm Connaughton, Cavan, for the photograph of Bishop O'Reilly

Most Rev Dr Leo O'Reilly

 Leo O'Reilly was ordained Coadjutor Bishop of Kilmore on Sunday 2 Feb 1997.

He is a past student of the college as well as a former member of the college staff from 1969 to 1976.

Born near Cootehill in 1944, he attended St Patrick's College before going to Maynooth. He was ordained on 15 June 1969 and was appointed to the staff of St Patrick's College.   In 1976 he went to Rome to study Biblical Theology and was appointed Director of Studies in the Irish College, Rome, in 1977.

In 1981 he returned to Ireland and was appointed chaplain to Bailieboro Community School where he stayed until 1988 when he volunteered to join the Kilmore mission to Minna, Nigeria. There he worked for two years in Gwada and was then appointed to teach Scripture in the Missionary Seminary of St Paul, near Abuja. In 1995 he returned to Kilmore and was appointed parish priest to Ballyhaise, replacing Mgr Sean Brady, the new archbishop of Armagh.

The class of

reun1971.jpg (48721 bytes)

Silver Jubilee Reunion 1996
The class of 1971 held its reunion in August 1996. Among those present were:

Pat Fulton, Kevin Mulligan, Pat Carolan, Tom Burns, P.J. Rudden, Michael McNiffe, Hugo Murphy, Val McCaul, T.P. Smith, Gerry Reilly, Sean Sharkey, Michael Smith, Liam Browne, Seamus Watters, Gerry Smith, Damien Traynor, Ciaran O'Keeffe, Paddy Conaty, Cathal Magee, Michael Alymer, John Brady, Turlough Smith, Frankie O'Reilly, Frank King, Donald Brady, Kevin Boylan, Dessie Denning, Paddy Magill, Padraig Brady, Ollie Leddy, David Hickey, Fr Liam Kelly, Eamon Gillick, Sean Martin, Fr McTiernan (Rev President), Eugene Reilly, Felim McKiernan, P.J. Dunne.

The class of

reun95.jpg (50811 bytes)

Silver Jubilee Reunion 1975
The class of 1970 held its reunion in the College on 12 August 1995. Among those who attended were:
Brian O'Brien, Anthony McCann, James McKeon, Hugh Brady, John McEntee, Declan Reilly, Donal Murray, Eamon Kilkenny, Philip Lynch, Sean Coyle, Paddy Greenan, Noel Feehan, Maurice Brady, Patrick O'Reilly, Oliver Gilroy, Sean Kelleher, Tom (T.P.) Smith, Damien Treanor, Jimmy Smith, Joe Farrell, George Smith, (Fr) Gerard Alwill, Paddy Sexton, Martin Gaffney
Classes of 1962 and 1963


Classes of 1962 and 1963.
Renunion in the College October 2003.
First row:
Fr Felim Mc Govern, Seamus Kennedy, Jimmy Coyle, Paddy Trainor, Fr Denis Murray.
Second row:
Padraic Fitzsimons, Jimmy Carroll, Jim Mc Bride, Oliver Mc Cann, Damien Keogan, Joe Colston, Noel Brady, Joseph Prior, Tom Brady, Jim Cosgrove.
Third row: Paddy Mc Dermott, Brian O' Reilly, George Crowe, Dermott Burke, Jim Maguire, Andrew Sharkey, Jim Donohoe, Paddy O'Rourke, Christopher Sheridan, Aidan Gorby, Thomas Sweeney.
Fourth row: Fr Thomas Maguire, Fr. Pat Brady, Patsy Lee, Liam Coyle, Raymond Dunne, Brendan Kiernan, Austin Gilroy, John Kelly, Brian Sullivan, Pat Denning.
Fifth row: Jerome Casey, Brian Kennedy, Terry Brady, Maurice Tubman, Jim Galligan, Ray Carolan, Charlie Flynn, Michael Dolan, Francis Garvey, Peter Galligan.
Sixth row: Cathal Harten, Eamonn Tubman, Frank Mc Kiernan, Eamonn Cooke, Paddy Lyons, Bishop Leo O'Reilly, Jimmy Stafford, Oliver Plunkett, Eamonn Olwill, Fr Michael Fitzpatrick.